The Erotic and Painful Obsessions of Jess Franco

ASM 028

im Vertrieb von / distributed by:
Indigo

CD 92067-2

Gerhard Heinz

The Erotic and Painful Obsessions of Jess Franco

Eugenie (Historia de una perversión)
Bloody Moon
Linda

One artist is the obsessed filmmaker Jesús “Jess” Franco, whose work consists of more than 170 films. Most of these films fall in the category of “exploitation”. His work triggers highly controversial debates, mainly because of his addiction to the topics sex and violence. Nevertheless he received the most important Spanish film award “Goya” for his lifework in 2008 (presented in Feb. 02, 2009).

The other one is the Austrian film music composer Gerhard Heinz, who is famous for over 100 original film music scores (frequently erotic) in the Sixties, such as “Schoolgirls” or “The Naked Countess”, honoured with gold and platinum records in Southeast Asia. Both started to work on the same projects in 1980/81 during three different film productions for the distribution company “Lisa Film” (Without meeting each other personally).

This is about the two softsex flicks “Linda” and “Eugenie (Historia de una perversión)” (both with pretty young actress Katja Bienert) and the slasher movie “Bloody Moon” (starring Olivia Pascal), which ranks among the most famous samples of the gory genre. By modern standards hardly imaginable this movie had its own photo story in Germany’s most popular teen magazine “Bravo”, but later in the Eighties it became one shining example in the “video-nasties” discussion.

This (virtual) cooperation, characterized by a lack of time and money, resulted three soundtracks which represent the zeitgeisty musical styles (disco!) and the atmosphere at the film sets, namely “beach, sun and happiness”, as well as the genre-specific elements sex and horror. For the musical realization Gerhard Heinz accessed a wide range of genres and instrumentations, from typical stomping disco songs (each of them could have become a summer hit in the 80s!) over romantic (sl)easy listening tracks, partly influenced by Spanish folk music or Samba, to orchestral suspense parts, which together with the skilled use of synthesizers develop the thrill to the maximum.


Foto courtesy of Gerhard Heinz.


As Gerhard Heinz did a great job it’s been easy to compile 23 unique and distinctive tracks for this CD. They convert the listener’s imagery into the weird world of Jess Franco, but at the same time – liberated from its in part unbearable synchronized dialogues and moans – can stand alone perfectly.

As always this Allscore CD is designed elaborately and contains notes by Katja Bienert and Gerhard Heinz as well as an interview with the composer, all in German and English language, also images of film posters and stills.

All titles are previously unreleased (except one which appeared on a late 70s disco soundtrack LP).

Real fans will find further tracks of the three films, which haven’t been compiled for the CD, in several music download shops in the internet (February 2009).


BEISPIELE / SAMPLES

  1. Play Autofahrt (Thema) 02:03
  2. Play Wieder am Swimmingpool 04:06
  3. Play Alba und Lolita 01:33
  4. Play Lolita und der Teddybaer 01:03
  5. Play Alberto und Alba 02:37
  6. Play Gespraech am Vorhang 02:23
  7. Play Der Traum - zweite Phase 04:21
  8. Play Versuchung auf der Terasse 04:00
  9. Play Schlussmusik 01:59
  10. Play Intro 00:47
  11. Play Holiday Feeling 03:02
  12. Play Disco Nights 02:18
  13. Play Die Saege des Todes Suite 02:09
  14. Play Disko alternativ 02:33
  15. Play Samba Tropical 03:09
  16. Play Bungalow 13 03:02
  17. Play Schock 00:18
  18. Play Im Strandcafe 02:11
  19. Play Verfolgung am Strand 01:07
  20. Play Panorama (Rio) 01:00
  21. Play Betsy und Ron 03:23
  22. Play Die Maedchen im Kloster - Filmversion 04:11


PRESSE / PRESS

R. D. Larson's Soundtrax [Feb. 12, 2009]: "a superlative collection of early 1980s exploitation film music"

Darren Allison, Cinema Retro magazine [03/09]: "Euro trash at its very best, I can’t think of a better way of sucking up a sexy sixty minutes!"

Kris Spencer, Scorebaby [02/09]: "Given the high quality of this compilation, it should be a given that any fan of European soundtracks needs to have it and the rest of you should give it a listen as well. "

ORDER CD:


DOWNLOAD:

siehe auch / see also:

The Erotic and Painful Obsessions of Jess Franco

ASM 028

im Vertrieb von / distributed by:
Indigo

CD 92067-2

Gerhard Heinz

The Erotic and Painful Obsessions of Jess Franco

Lolita am Scheideweg
Die Säge des Todes
Die nackten Superhexen vom Rio Amore

Auf der einen Seite der besessene Filmemacher Jesús „Jess“ Franco, dessen Werk, bestehend aus mehr als 170 Filmen, überwiegend der Kategorie Exploitation, wegen seiner Fixierung auf den Themenkomplex Sex & Gewalt bei der Kritik höchst umstritten ist. Und der doch im Jahr 2008 mit dem wichtigsten spanischen Filmpreis „Goya“ für sein Lebenswerk geehrt wurde (Überreichung am 2. Feb. 2009 in Madrid).

Auf der anderen Seite der österreichische Filmkomponist Gerhard Heinz, der mit der Musik für eine Vielzahl (häufig erotischer) Filme seit den 60er Jahren Bekanntheit erlangte und speziell im südostasiatischen Raum dafür auch mit Platin- und Goldenen Schallplatten ausgezeichnet wurde. Beide wurden in den Jahren 1980/81 durch die Filmproduktions- und Verleihfirma „Lisa Film“  – wenn auch nicht persönlich – zur Arbeit an drei Filmen zusammengeführt.

Es handelt sich um die zwei Softsex-Streifen „Lolita am Scheideweg“ und „Die nackten Superhexen vom Rio Amore“ (beide mit der sehr jungen Katja Bienert in der Hauptrolle), sowie den Slasher „Die Säge des Todes“ (mit Olivia Pascal), der zu den bekannteren Beispielen des blutrünstigen Genres zählt und nach einer nach aktuellen Maßstäben kaum noch nachvollziehbaren Fotostory im Teenie-Magazin „Bravo“(!) im Rahmen der „Video-Nasties“-Diskussion in den 80er Jahren doch noch als abschreckendes Beispiel herhalten durfte.

Herausgekommen sind bei der von Zeit- und Geldmangel geprägten Zusammenarbeit drei Soundtracks, die sowohl den musikalischen Zeitgeist (Disco!), als auch die Atmosphäre der spanischen Filmsets, mit Sonne, Strand und guter Laune, sowie natürlich die genrespezifischen Elemente Sex und Horror repräsentieren. Bei der musikalischen Umsetzung bediente sich Gerhard Heinz entsprechend bei einer großen Bandbreite musikalischer Richtungen, vom typisch stampfenden Disco-Sound im Songformat (warum wurde keiner dieser Titel ein Sommerhit?) über romantische Easy-Listening Titel, teils mit Einsprengseln spanischer Folklore und Samba, bis hin zu orchestralen Suspense-Parts, die, ebenso wie der gekonnte Einsatz von Synthesizern, den Horror steigern sollten.


Foto mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Gerhard Heinz.


All dies gelang Gerhard Heinz hervorragend und so ließen sich mit Leichtigkeit 23 Titel für diese CD kompilieren, die dem Hörer Jess Francos Filme vor das geistige Auge führen, die aber auch – befreit von teilweise unsäglichen Synchrontexten und Gestöhne - ohne die Idee vom Bild sehr gut leben können.

Die Aufmachung der CD ist wie immer aufwendig gestaltet, enthalten sind eine Grußnote von Katja Bienert und Gerhard Heinz, sowie ein Interview mit dem Komponisten, alles in deutscher und englischer Sprache, sowie Abbildungen von Filmplakaten und -Stills.

Alle Titel sind bisher unveröffentlicht (lediglich ein Titel war auf einer zeitgenössischen LP enthalten).
Für die echten Fans werden ab Februar 2009 zusätzliche Titel aus den 3 Filmen, die den Weg auf die CD nicht fanden, auf diversen Musikplattformen im Internet zum ergänzenden Download angeboten.



BEISPIELE / SAMPLES

  1. Play Schlussmusik 01:59
  2. Play Wieder am Swimmingpool 04:06
  3. Play Gespraech am Vorhang 02:23
  4. Play Versuchung auf der Terasse 04:00
  5. Play Autofahrt (Thema) 02:03
  6. Play Lolita und der Teddybaer 01:03
  7. Play Alba und Lolita 01:33
  8. Play Alberto und Alba 02:37
  9. Play Der Traum - zweite Phase 04:21
  10. Play Im Strandcafe 02:11
  11. Play Verfolgung am Strand 01:07
  12. Play Die Maedchen im Kloster - Filmversion 04:11
  13. Play Panorama (Rio) 01:00
  14. Play Betsy und Ron 03:23
  15. Play Holiday Feeling 03:02
  16. Play Samba Tropical 03:09
  17. Play Disco Nights 02:18
  18. Play Disko alternativ 02:33
  19. Play Intro 00:47
  20. Play Bungalow 13 03:02
  21. Play Schock 00:18
  22. Play Die Saege des Todes Suite 02:09


PRESSE / PRESS

TV-Spielfilm [05/09]: "Toller Fund furchtloser Archivbuddler...kruder, unterhaltsamer Mix aus Eurodisco, fluffigem Samba und Thrill!"

Musikexpress [03/09]: "Mehr als Easy Listening" "Disco-Stampfer, Proto-Electro-House, Ahnungen von Musique concrète. Jeder der 23 Tracks ließe sich in ein zeitgenößisches DJ-Set einbauen!"

Südwestpresse [26.01.09]: "Süffig-schräge Sounds zu krude-krausen Bildern"

Hörerlebnis [03/09]: "... schon jetzt als Klassiker zu bezeichnender Meilenstein im Bereich des Easy Listening..."

Deutschlandfunk "CORSO" [12.02.09]: "Musik die wir heute in der Cocktailbar oder in der Szene-Lounge hören, unbeschwerte, durchaus kitschige Klänge, mit einem sexy Beigeschmack."

CD KAUFEN:


DOWNLOAD:

siehe auch / see also: